High-level advocacy

One Health Priority Research Agenda for Antimicrobial Resistance

Priority Research Agenda for AMR
12:00pm - 1:30pm (GMT+1:00)
One Health Joint Plan of Action participants

The Quadripartite organisations have developed a One Health Priority Research Agenda for AMR report. This is a joint initiative to assist in directing and catalysing scientific interest and financial investments for priority research agenda across sectors for countries and funding bodies. The research agenda also serves as a guide to One Health AMR that will help policymakers, researchers, and a multidisciplinary scientific community work together on solutions to prevent and mitigate AMR within the One Health approach.

Participate virtually in the webinar to launch the One Health Priority Research Agenda for AMR due to take place on 28 June 2023 from 12:00pm to 13:30 CET.


Welcome and scene-setting

  • Moderator: Sarah Nehrling

Presentation of the One Health Priority Research Agenda for Antimicrobial Resistance

  • Dr. Haileyesus Getahun, Director, Quadripartite Joint Secretariat on AMR, WHO

Moderated Panel Discussion

  • Maria Helena Semedo, Deputy Director-General, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
  • Jacqueline Álvarez, Chief, Chemicals and Health Branch, Economy Division, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • Hanan H. Balkhy, Assistant Director-General for Antimicrobial Resistance, World Health Organization (WHO)
  • Montserrat Arroyo Kuribreña, Deputy Director General, International Standards and Science, World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH)
  • Robert Skov, Scientific Director at the International Center for Antimicrobial Resistance Solutions (ICARS)
  • Scott Weese, Professor in the Department of Pathobiology, Director of the Centre for Public Health and Zoonoses, University of Guelph, Global Leaders Group member on AMR
  • Sabiha Essack, Professor in the South African Research Chair (SARChI) in Antibiotic Resistance and One Health and Professor in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)

Wrap up and closing

  • Moderator: Sarah Nehrling