RESOLUTION No. 15

Recognition of the Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Risk Status of Members

CONSIDERING THAT

- 1. During the 67th General Session, the World Assembly of Delegates (the Assembly) established a procedure for annually updating a List of Members and zones, categorised by their bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk according to the provisions of the *Terrestrial Animal Health Code* (*Terrestrial Code*),
- 2. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 15, which specified and updated the procedure for Members to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status of certain diseases, including BSE risk status,
- 3. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 16, which specified and updated the financial implications for Members applying for evaluation of official recognition of BSE risk status to meet part of the costs defrayed by WOAH in the evaluation process,
- 4. During the 79th General Session, the Assembly noted that an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedures for official animal health status evaluations had been compiled by WOAH Headquarters for the benefit of Members,
- 5. During the 85th General Session, the Assembly noted a complete revision of the standard operating procedures providing further details on the process of official status recognition. The document has been published on the WOAH website,
- 6. During the 86th General Session, the Assembly noted an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedure for official recognition of animal health status of non-contiguous territories as part of a Member already having an official animal health status. The document has been published on the WOAH website,
- 7. Information published by WOAH is derived from declarations made by the Delegates of Members. WOAH is not responsible for the publication and maintenance of Members' or zonal risk status based on inaccurate information or untimely reporting to WOAH Headquarters of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of the BSE risk status,

THE ASSEMBLY

RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General published the following List of Members recognised as having a negligible BSE risk in accordance with Chapter 11.4. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Argentina Denmark Latvia Poland Australia Estonia Liechtenstein Portugal² Austria Lithuania Finland¹ Romania Belgium Luxembourg France Serbia³ Bolivia Malta Germany Singapore Brazil Mexico Hungary Slovakia Bulgaria Namibia Iceland Slovenia Canada New Zealand India Spain⁴ Chile Nicaragua Ireland Sweden Colombia Norway Israel Switzerland Costa Rica Panama Italy The Netherlands Croatia Paraguay Japan United States of America Cyprus Peru Korea (Rep. of) Uruguay

Czech Republic

2. The Director General publish the following List of Members recognised as having a controlled BSE risk in accordance with Chapter 11.4. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Chinese Taipei Greece Ecuador Russia

3. The Director General publish the following List of Members with zones⁵ recognised as having a negligible BSE risk in accordance with Chapter 11.4. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

China (People's Rep. of): a zone designated by the Delegate of China (People's Rep. of) in a

document addressed to the Director General in November 2013, consisting of the People's Republic of China, with the exclusion of

Hong Kong and Macau;

United Kingdom: one zone consisting of Northern Ireland as designated by the

Delegate of the United Kingdom in a document addressed to the

Director General in September 2016;

one zone consisting of Jersey as designated by the Delegate of the United Kingdom in a document addressed to the Director General

in August 2019;

4. The Director General published the following List of Members with zones⁵ recognised as having a controlled BSE risk in accordance with Chapter 11.4. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

United Kingdom: one zone consisting of England and Wales as designated by the

Delegate of the United Kingdom in documents addressed to the Director General in September and October 2016 and in November

2021;

one zone consisting of Scotland as designated by the Delegate of the United Kingdom in documents addressed to the Director General in

September and October 2016 and in December 2018;

AND

5. The Delegates of these Members shall immediately notify WOAH Headquarters if BSE occurs in their countries or zones within their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates on 23 May 2023 in view of an entry into force on 26 May 2023)

Including Azores and Madeira.

Including Åland Islands.

³ Excluding Kosovo administered by the United Nations.

⁴ Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.

For detailed information on the delimitation of the zones of the Members recognised as having a negligible or controlled BSE risk, enquiries should be addressed to the Director General of WOAH.