# RESOLUTION No. 16

# Recognition of the African Horse Sickness Status of Members

# CONSIDERING THAT

- During the 80th General Session, the OIE World Assembly of Delegates (the Assembly) adopted Resolution No. 19, which amended the chapter of the Terrestrial Animal Health Code (Terrestrial Code) on African horse sickness (AHS). These standards provide a pathway for Members or zones to be recognised by the OIE as free from AHS,
- 2. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 15, which specified and updated the procedure for Members to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status for certain animal diseases, including AHS,
- 3. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 16, which specified and updated the financial implications for Members applying for evaluation of official recognition of animal health status to meet part of the costs defrayed by the OIE in the evaluation process,
- 4. During the 79th General Session, the Assembly noted that an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedures for official animal health status evaluations had been compiled by the OIE Headquarters for the benefit of Members,
- 5. During the 85th General Session, the Assembly noted a complete revision of the standard operating procedures providing further details on the process of official status recognition. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 6. During the 86th General Session, the Assembly noted an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedure for official recognition of animal health status of non-contiguous territories as part of a Member already having an OIE official animal health status. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 7. Information published by the OIE is derived from declarations made by the OIE Delegates of Members. The OIE is not responsible for publication and maintenance of Members' or zonal animal health status based on inaccurate information or untimely reporting to the OIE Headquarters of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of freedom from AHS,

#### THE ASSEMBLY

# RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General publish the following List of Members recognised as AHS free according to the provisions of Chapter 12.1. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Korea (Rep. of) Algeria Croatia Poland Andorra Cyprus Kuwait Portugal<sup>4</sup> Argentina Czech Republic Latvia Qatar Australia Denmark Liechtenstein Romania Ecuador Austria Lithuania Singapore Azerbaijan Luxembourg Estonia Slovakia Bahrain  $Finland^2$ Malta Slovenia Belgium Mexico Spain<sup>5</sup> France<sup>3</sup> Bolivia Morocco Sweden Germany Bosnia and Herzegovina New Caledonia Switzerland Greece Brazil New Zealand The Netherlands Hungary North Macedonia (Rep. of)

Bulgaria Iceland Tunisia Canada Norway India Turkey Oman

Chile Ireland United Arab Emirates Paraguay China (People's Rep. of)<sup>1</sup> Italy United Kingdom<sup>6</sup> Chinese Taipei Peru

Japan United States of America<sup>7</sup>

Colombia Philippines Kazakhstan Uruguay

# AND

The Delegates of these Members shall immediately notify the OIE Headquarters if AHS occurs in their countries or their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE on 24 May 2022 in view of an entry into force on 27 May 2022)

Including Hong Kong and Macau.

Including Åland Islands.

Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Barthélémy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon.

Including Azores and Madeira.

Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.

Including Cayman Islands, Guernsey (incl. Alderney and Sark), Isle of Man, Jersey, Saint Helena and Falkland Islands (Malvinas). (A dispute exists between the Government of Argentina and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) [see resolution 2065 (XX) of the General Assembly of the United Nations]).

Including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands.